T H E   N I H    C A T A L Y S T      J A N U A R Y  –  F E B R U A R Y  1999


In this issue, we are asking for your reactions in four areas: clinical research morale, Centers of Excellence, complementary and alternative medicine, and an NIH graduate program.

Send your responses on these topics or your comments on other intramural research concerns to us via e-mail:
; fax:402-4303; or mail: Building 1, Room 209.


In Future Issues...

The NIH Academy

Mentoring Survey

Malaria Research
At the Clinical Center

1.Some clinical research leaders see signs of rising spirits among clinical investigators. Do you agree? What additional steps should be taken to rejuvenate clinical research at NIH?


2.What is your reaction to the "Centers of Excellence" concept? In what research areas do you think NIH could most benefit from establishing such centers?


3.Complementary and alternative medicine has taken several years to settle in and get rolling at NIH (see story), and a National Center of Complementary and Alternative Medicine has now been established here. What advice would you give to a new NCCAM director?


4.Following emerging recommendations of the Slavkin committee, NIH will explore the possibility of establishing a graduate program in clinical research and an Academy to train a more diverse cadre of biomedical investigators. The Catalyst plans to focus on these possibilities in the next issue. Is the time right for these changes? What steps does NIH need to take to prepare itself for additional mentoring and teaching activities?



The NIH Catalyst is published bi-monthly for and by the intramural scientists at NIH. Address correspondence to Building 1, Room 209, NIH, Bethesda, MD 20892. Ph: (301) 402-1449; fax: (301) 402-4303; e-mail: <catalyst@nih.gov>.

Michael Gottesman
Deputy Director for Intramural Research, OD

John I. Gallin
Director, Warren Grant Magnuson Clinical Center, and Associate Director for Clinical Research

Lance Liotta
Chief, Laboratory of Pathology, NCI


Celia Hooper

Fran Pollner

Shauna Roberts




Jorge Carrasquillo, CC
David Davies, NIDDK
Dale Graham, CIT
Hynda Kleinman, NIDCR
Elise Kohn, NCI
Susan Leitman, CC
Bernard Moss, NIAID
Michael Rogawski, NINDS
Joan Schwartz, NINDS
Gisela Storz, NICHD



Return to Table of Contents