by Jack Schmidt, Ph.D.

The Fogarty International Center's Scholars-in-Residence Program has brought more than 200 internationally renowned biomedical researchers to NIH over the past 26 years, yet somehow very few of these scientists have been clinicians. Recognizing that NIH's clinical investigators have as much to gain from interacting with their distinguished peers from around the globe as do basic scientists, Fogarty International Center (FIC) Director Philip Schambra and Clinical Center Director John Gallin are launching a special initiative this year to solicit nominations of outstanding clinical researchers for the Scholars-in-Residence Program. As participants in the program, clinical scholars would make regular rounds on the Clinical Center wards, take part in conferences, hold seminars, and write scholarly articles or conduct research that complements existing clinical programs.

Normally, FIC scholars' appointments run for 12 months, which may be divided into shorter terms of at least three months in length. However, because some clinicians may find it logistically difficult to spend an extended period of time at NIH, FIC will allow them to shorten their appointment terms to three months total. The first round of nominations for the clinical scholars initiative closed April 1, and candidates who are selected are expected to arrive at NIH during fiscal year 1996. Meanwhile, the following Fogarty scholars who were nominated previously are set to begin or resume their NIH residence during the next few months.

Lev Bergelson to 10/24/95

Formerly a professor of biochemistry at the Shemayakin Institute of Bioorganic Chemistry in Moscow, Bergelson is now a professor of biochemistry at Hebrew University of Jerusalem. He is recognized worldwide for his research on the structure and function of lipids in biological membranes, the role of glycolipids in immunomodulation, and the pathogenesis of cardiovascular disease. Recently, his studies of the involvement of lipids in ligand-receptor interactions resulted in the development of a new method for quantifying cell-antibody reactions. Bergelson was nominated by Adrian Parsegian, DCRT.

Yadin Dudai to 8/31/95

A professor of neurobiology and dean of the biology faculty at the Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot, Israel, Dudai has made important contributions to the understanding of the genetic and biochemical bases of learning and memory. His demonstration of the involvement of adenyl cyclase and other second-messenger components in short- and intermediate-term memory has proven particularly important. His book, The Neurobiology of Memory, has become a standard reference in the field. Dudai was nominated by Mortimer Mishkin, NIMH.

Benjamin Geiger to 9/30/95

Dean of the Feinberg Graduate School and a professor in the Chemical Immunology Department at the Weizmann Institute of Science, Geiger has made major contributions to cell biology, especially elucidating the structure and function of the cytoskeleton and exploring the importance of cell adhesion. His characterizations of important cytoskeletal molecules, such as vinculin and [[alpha]]-actinin, and his research on cell-cell contacts and cell-extracellular matrix interactions have been fundamental to our understanding of cell growth, differentiation, and metabolism. Geiger was nominated by Ken Yamada, NIDR.

Illana Gozesto 8/31/95

Chair of the Chemical Pathology Department at Tel Aviv University in Israel, Gozes is an international authority on vasoactive intestinal peptide (VIP), having cloned the VIP gene. Gozes has demonstrated that a VIP antagonist of her own design interferes with cancer cell division and that a lipophilic VIP analog can be used to treat impotence. She has broad experience in identifying and studying the mode of action of neurotrophic growth factors. Gozes was nominated by Douglas Brenneman, NICHD.

Tasuku Honjo to 9/5/95

A professor of medical chemistry at Kyoto University in Japan, Honjo is one of the world's leading molecular immunologists. He has done pioneering work on the molecular genetics of immunoglobulin heavy chains and on the mechanism of antibody class switching. He has also contributed greatly to our knowledge of lymphocyte development and function. Honjo's recent interest is in the interrelationship between programmed cell death and autoimmunity. Honjo was nominated by Igor Dawid, NICHD, and William Paul, NIAID.

Koji Kimata to 8/31/95

Director of the Institute for Molecular Science of Medicine at Aichi Medical University in Japan, Kimata is renowned for his work on the structure and function of connective-tissue molecules and, in particular, on the role of proteoglycans in cartilage development, cell binding, and growth-factor regulation. His studies have been fundamental to the understanding of the biosynthesis and developmental regulation of extracellular matrices. Kimata was nominated by Yoshihiko Yamada, NIDR.

Yuan Chuan Lee to 10/11/95

A professor in the Biology Department at Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, Yuan Chuan Lee has a worldwide reputation in the fields of carbohydrate, glycoprotein, and glycoconjugate biochemistry. He conducted pioneering studies of the structure and specificity of cell-membrane receptors and was a leader in developing much of the technology that led to the current blossoming of glycoconjugate research. Lee was nominated by Hao-Chia Chen, NICHD.

Suryanarayan Ramachandran to 6/15/96

Until recently, Ramachandran was secretary of biotechnology in India's Ministry of Science and Technology, responsible for overseeing the biotechnology activities of six governmental agencies in the areas of health, agriculture, and environmental development and safety. As a microbial biochemist, he has broad research experience in the mode of action of antibiotics and in the development of improved technology for the production of antimalarials and antibacterial vaccines. He has gained an international reputation in biotechnology and immunization policy. Ramachandran was nominated by John LaMontagne, NIAID.

Eugene Rosenberg to 9/30/95

A professor in the Molecular Microbiology and Biotechnology Department at Tel Aviv University in Israel, Rosenberg is a global leader in research on microbial adherence and ecology and has made many important contributions to basic science and applied microbiology. His work has encompassed studies of polysaccharide biosynthesis and degradation, the biology of mycobacteria, bacterial differentiation, microbial emulsifiers and dispersants, and cell-surface hydrophobicity. He holds many patents in the area of biomaterials and microbiology and has extensive experience in the international biotechnology community. He was nominated by Paul Kolenbrauder, NIDR.

Giancarlo Vecchio to 9/30/95

A professor of oncology at the University of Naples Faculty of Medicine in Italy, Vecchio is best known for his research on epithelial carcinogenesis. He is the discoverer of the papillary thyroid carcinoma (PTC) oncogene, which is responsible for a high percentage of human thyroid tumors. He has attained international recognition through his work on molecular virology and malignant transformation. Vecchio was nominated by Stuart Aaronson, formerly of NCI.

How to Nominate A Scholar Candidate

Nominations for the Scholars-in-Residence Program may be made by senior NIH staff members and should be sent to Jack Schmidt, Director, Division of International Advanced Studies, FIC, Building 16, Room 202. For more information, contact Schmidt (phone: 496-4161; fax: 496-8496; e-mail: The nomination package should include

Table of Contents