T H E   N I H    C A T A L Y S T      J U L Y  –  A U G U S T   2001


The NIH Research Festival will be held October 2–5. The deadline for online poster submission is Monday, August 6 at 5:00 p.m. For a preliminary schedule and online poster registration, see website.

For more information about poster submission or the festival, contact Paula Cohen at 496-1776 or e-mail.




Urologic Oncology

The Second Meeting to Discuss Current Topics and Strategies in Urologic Oncology, sponsored by NCI’s Urologic Oncology Program and the Society of Urologic Oncology, will be held December 1–2, 2001, in the Natcher Conference Center. The meeting will focus on prostate, kidney, and bladder cancer.

Residents, fellows-in-training, and attending staff (1–5 years from completion of training) are invited to submit abstracts (on any research topic in urologic oncology) for the poster session. Abstracts are due September 15.

For info, contact Linda Gaskill, Matthews Media Group, at 301-348-1628 or e-mail: Register online.


Biological Therapy

The Society for Biological Therapy will hold its annual meeting November 9–11, 2001, at the Natcher Conference Center. Organized by NCI, Bayer Pharmaceuticals, and Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, it features sessions on cytokines, angiogenesis, gene therapy, vaccine/dendritic cells, antibodies, pharmacogenomics/discovery, and new agents in development.

Abstracts are due August 17. Six abstracts by students, postdoctoral fellows, or junior faculty (instructor or assistant professor) with three or fewer years on staff will be selected for presentation; one of these will be chosen to receive the 2001 Presidential Award and a check for $1,000. Program information, registration, and abstract guidelines and submission form are available at the society’s website.



Nicole Le Douarin

French developmental biologist Nicole Le Douarin has been chosen as an NIH Fogarty Scholar and will deliver a lecture on "Relationships of the Neural Ectoderm to the Notocord and the Cephalic Neural Crest during Central Nervous System Development" at the Lipsett Auditorium, noon to 1 p.m., Thursday, July 26.

Le Douarin’s eminent scientific positions—she is director of the Institute of Embryology of the CNRS, professor of the Collège de France, and Secrétaire Perpétuelle de l’Académie des Sciences—prevent her from spending an extended period of time in the United States. Instead, she is planning a series of shorter visits, the first of which is from July 23 to August 17, 2001. Hosted by Heiner Westphal (LMGD/NICHD, Bldg. 6B, Rm. 413), she plans to interact with several NIH laboratories involved in developmental biology.

Among her contributions to this field are the use of a unique structure of the quail interphase nucleus in a cell-marking technique to follow cell migrations and morphogenetic movements in the avian embryo, the discovery of totipotent neural crest stem cells, and the demonstration that behavioral traits, such as song, can be transferred from donor to recipient by transplantation of brain tissue.

Contacts with Le Douarin will be arranged by Carol Duffy, phone: 301-402-0545.


Anthony Fauci, director, NIAID, and chief of the Laboratory of Immunoregulation
Marshall Nirenberg, chief of the Laboratory of Biochemical Genetics, NHLBI



A procession of "great teachers" of clinical medicine will grace the Clinical Center Grand Rounds roster once a month from September to June, thanks to a joint program arranged by the NIH/FAES Continuing Medical Education Committee and the Office of Education.

Topics chosen for this first annual series on Contemporary Clinical Medicine were based on the results of an NIH-wide survey of physician learning needs. Speakers were selected based on their clinical expertise and teaching abilities.

The Great Teachers Series aims to bring up-to-date information on important clinical topics to both clinical practitioners and research physicians on the NIH campus. The viewpoint will be from the bedside with emphasis on the practical. Some novel teaching techniques, including audience participation, are anticipated.

The series will be held on the second Wednesday of each month at noon in the Lipsett amphitheater. Each program will also be available in the NIH archives. For more information, contact OE’s Sylvia Scherr or Ione Lagasse at 301-435-8012


Ruth Kirschstein, NIH acting director, and Michael Gottesman, deputy director for intramural research (bottom row, 3rd and 4th from left) honored this year’s Ph.D. graduates: (from left to right, with mentor and institute in parentheses): Teri Manolio (Alexander Wilson, NHLBI), Dongmei Yang (Peace Cheng, NIA), David Hattery (Amir Gandjbakhche, NICHD), Rachel Poltilove (Simeon Taylor, NIDDK), David Kaufman (Jeff Struewing, NCI), Ruth Kirschstein, NIH acting director, Mohammad Khoshnevisan (Scott Diehl, NIDCR), Michael Gottesman, deputy director for intramural research, Sohail Chaudhry (Kevin Garnder, NCI), Tara Garvey (Jeffrey Cohen, NIAID), Mirza Baig (Henry McFarland, NINDS), Aparna Mohan (Martha Linet, NCI), Tara Vogt (Regina Ziegler, NCI), Aviva Jacobs (Simeon Taylor, NIDDK), Frank Addivinola (Marshall Nirenberg, NHLBI), Michelle Rudek (William Figg, NCI). Not pictured: Carole Carter (Edison Liu, NCI), Shubhashini Chandrasekaran (Edison Liu, NCI), Anand Chokkalingam (Ann Hsing, NCI), Yunsheng He (Louis Staudt, NCI), Stephen Martin, Jr. (Dale Sandler, NIEHS), Alex McCampbell (Kenneth Fischbeck, NINDS), Lance Miller (Edison Liu, NCI), Ann Scher (Karin Nelson, NINDS), Ming Zheng (Peace Cheng, NIA).
Formalizing what has been a long-time activity at NIH—providing research training for Ph.D. candidates, an activity that is expanding under the auspices of the NIH Office of Graduate Program Partnerships—NIH held its first Certificate Award Ceremony May 9 for 23 graduating doctoral students who had been training in NIH labs. They received their Ph.D.s from 10 different partner universities: George Washington University, Washington, D.C.; Howard University, Washington, D.C.; University of Maryland, at College Park and Baltimore; the Johns Hopkins School of Public Health, Baltimore; Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond; University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; University of Michigan, Ann Arbor; University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia; and Yale University, New Haven, Conn.


Return to Table of Contents