T H E   N I H    C A T A L Y S T    J A N U A R Y  –  F E B R U A R Y   2001


In this issue, we are asking for your reactions in four areas: health disparities research, training in the responsible conduct of research, advice for a new NIH director, and RNA-i.

Send your responses on these topics or your comments on other intramural research concerns to us via e-mail:
catalyst@nih.gov>; fax:402-4303; or mail: Building 2, Room 2W23.


In Future Issues...


Neuroscience Center

The Odyssey of a Teacher

1. What do you see as key areas of emphasis for the new Center for Research on Minority Health and Health Disparities or the NIH Academy in the years ahead? Do you have any suggestions about how to encourage bench and clinical intramural researchers to address health disparities questions? Do you think some adjustments are warranted in your own research agenda? Why or why not?


2.What can NIH do to maximize the effectiveness of training in the "responsible conduct of research"? Are you eager to receive this training?


3. What do you project will be the major challenges facing a new NIH director? What do you think should be the priorities of the person who will assume NIH leadership? What advice would you give a new director—or the incoming HHS secretary?


4. The Catalyst is contemplating an article on RNA-i (use of inhibiting RNA to selectively silence genes). Are you using the technique? In what organism and with what genes?



The NIH Catalyst is published bimonthly for and by the intramural scientists at NIH. Address correspondence to Building2, Room 2W23, NIH, Bethesda, MD 20892. Ph: (301) 402-1449; fax: (301) 402-4303; e-mail: <catalyst@nih.gov>.

Michael Gottesman
Deputy Director for Intramural Research, OD

John I. Gallin
Director, Warren Grant Magnuson Clinical Center, and Associate Director for Clinical Research

Lance Liotta
Chief, Laboratory of Pathology, NCI


Celia Hooper

Fran Pollner

Shauna Roberts

Margaret Coulombe



Jorge Carrasquillo, CC
David Davies, NIDDK
Dale Graham, CIT
Hynda Kleinman, NIDCR
Elise Kohn, NCI
Susan Leitman, CC
Bernard Moss, NIAID
Michael Rogawski, NINDS
Joan Schwartz, NINDS
Gisela Storz, NICHD


Return to Table of Contents